ECU Symphony Orchestra

Horn section of a symphony

The ECU Symphony Orchestra 2023 – 2024 season welcomes outstanding artists performing a variety of interesting and powerful works for orchestra. Maestro Richter will lead the orchestra in a season of six performances at the A. J. Fletcher Music Center Recital Hall and Wright Auditorium.

Villa-Lobos, Weber & Haydn

Saturday, September 16, 7:30 p.m.
A. J. Fletcher Music Center [Free]

This year’s season opening concert starts with Villa-Lobos “Prelude” from Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4 and Weber’s Andante e Rondo Ungarese Opus 35 with guest soloist Christopher Ulffers.  The program continues with Haydn’s Symphony No. 104 in D, “London”, a staple of the orchestral repertoire that gives any orchestra a chance to show its virtuosity.

symphony students

Bach, Elgar & Mozart

Saturday, October 28, 7:30 p.m.,
A. J. Fletcher Music Center [Free]

This concert features Bach’s famous “Coffee Cantata” with guest soloists Catherine Gardner, Daniel Shirley, John Kramar and Christine Gustafson.

Also in this program Mozart’s “Oboe Concerto” with gust soloist Joe Sipper, Winner of the ECU School of Music 2022 Concerto Competition, and Elgar’s “Chanson de Matin, Opus 15”.

Conductor and musicians

Elgar, Wagner & Stravinsky

Saturday, December 2, 7:30 p.m.,
A. J. Fletcher Music Center [Free]

This is a concert featuring Elgar’s “Chanson de Nuit”, Opus 15, followed by Wagner’s “Siegfried Idyll”, a birthday present for his wife Cosima, first performed on Christmas morning 1870, on the stairs of their villa in Lucerne, Switzerland.

The second part of the program features Stravinsky’s “Dances Concertantes” for chamber orchestra.


smiling student with string instrument

Dvořák & Concerto Competition Winner

Saturday, February 10, 7:30 p.m.
Wright Auditorium [Free]

The orchestra performs Dvořák’s “Czech Suite” and the featured soloist will be the winner of the 2023 School of Music Concerto Competition.

Sibelius, Grant Still & Winner Composition

Saturday, March 16, 7:30 p.m.
Wright Auditorium [Free]

This concert features the winning composition of the NC NewMusic Initiative 16th Annual Orchestral Composition Competition, followed by Still’s “Danzas de Panama” and Sibelius “Pelleas and Melisande Suite”.

Lukas Foss & Mozart

Saturday, April 13, 7:30 p.m.
Wright Auditorium [Free]

This concert features the Grammy-nominated flutist Carol Wincenc as soloist, performing Lukas Foss “Renaissance Concerto” for flute and orchestra, followed by Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 in C major, “Jupiter”.

For performance dates, locations, and repertoire, please view our Current Season page.
For more information on the orchestra, contact:
Jorge Richter, Conductor []
ECU Symphony Orchestra
East Carolina University
School of Music
Greenville, NC 27858

Individuals requesting accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) should call 252-737-1016 (voice/TTY) at least 48 hours prior to the event.