2009 NewMusic@ECU Festival

Celebrating the music of our time with

Daedalus Quartet
Christopher Grymes, clarinet
ECU Chamber Singers, Daniel Bara, Dir.
ECU Symphony Orchestra, Jorge Richter, Dir.
ECU NewMusic Camerata

This year’s festival, our 9th annual celebration of the music of our time, features six concerts, master classes with visiting composers, performers, reading sessions of student composers’ works, and more!

Please take a few moments to browse the schedule of events here, or use the menu on the left for more information.

We look forward to including you among our audiences at the Annual NewMusic@ECU Festival.

For tickets to:
Feb. 26, ’09 @ 8pm: ECU Chamber Singers
call 252-328-4788 or 1-800-ECU-ARTS for information, or purchase tickets at the door.

For additional information about the festival,
or to become a festival sponsor, contact:
East Carolina University School of Music, 252-328-6851, or
Edward Jacobs, NewMusic@ECU Festival Director, NewMusic@ECU.EDU

Schedule of Events

Feb. 25

@9pm: Christopher Grymes, clarinet
“Plugged, v. 2.0” at The Starlight Cafe

Feb. 26

@8pm: ECU Chamber Singers, Daniel Bara, Dir.
at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

Feb. 27

@8pm: Daedalus Quartet

Feb. 28

@3pm: ECU NewMusic Camerata
@8pm: pulsoptional

Mar. 1

@3pm: East Carolina University Orchestra
Jorge Richter, Director
at Wright Auditorium

Performers & Composers in attendance

Performers (Guest artists bold; ECU Faculty italics)

Christine Gustafson, flute
Bo Newsome, oboe
Christopher Grymes, clarinet
J. Christopher Ulffers, bassoon
Karen Hall, soprano
Britt Theurer, trumpet
Nikki Dobell McCaslin, trombone
Tom McCaslin, tuba
Jonathan Wacker, percussion
Alisa Gilliam, piano
Keiko Sekino, piano
Harris Ipock, baritone
Chris Ellis, violin
Sarah Griffin, violin
David Kilbride, violin
Byron Watkins, violin
Andrew Minguez, viola
Randy Ward, cello
Emanuel Gruber, cello
J. Christopher Buddo, bass
Daniel Bara, conductor
Scott Carter, conductor
Christopher Knighten, conductor
Jorge Richter, viola, conductor
Daedalus String Quartet
Min-Young Kim, violin
Kyu-Young Kim, violin
Jessica Thompson, viola
Raman Ramakrishnan, cello

pulsoptional; Band of Composers
Sidney Boquiren, keyboard
Marc Faris, guitar
Todd Hershberger, bassoon, saxophone
Thom Limbert, percussion
John Mayrose, guitar, bass
Carrie Shull, oboe, english horn

ECU Symphony Orchestra
ECU Chamber Singers
ECU Wind Ensemble members


Chen Yao, University of Chicago
Winner, 2009 NewMusic@ECU Festival Composition Competition
Sidney Boquiren, Adelphi University
Marc Faris, East Carolina University
David Glaser, Stern College, Yeshiva University
Todd Hershberger, Duke University
Thom Limbert, Duke University
John Mayrose, Lawrence Conservatory
Carrie Shull, Durham, NC
Mark Taggart, East Carolina University
Mark Richardson, East Carolina University
Edward Jacobs, East Carolina University

Works to be performed at the festival

* indicates World Premiere

Yao, Chen, Two Poems for chamber orchestra (2005)
Winner, 2008-09 NewMusic@ECU Orchestra Composition Competition
Betnis, Abbie, Cedit, Hyems (Be Gone, Winter!) (2003)
Boquiren, Sidney, Doves (2007)
Boyce, Cary, Ave Maria (1997)
Britten, Benjamin, String Quartet No. 2 (1945)
Carter, Elliott, String Quartet No. 5 (1995)
Dahlgren, David, Folksongs of the Vikings for tuba and string orchestra (2003)
Faris, Marc, *Exorcisms for orchestra (2008) WORLD PREMIERE
*Smile and Nod Knowingly (2008) WORLD PREMIERE
I Heart Rosa Luxemburg (2005)
*Glaser, David, Concerto for Clarinet and Chamber Orchestra (2008) WORLD PREMIERE
commissioned by the NewMusic@ECU Festival
Glick, Mark, Wife of Bath (2004)
Helvey, Howard, O Quam Gloriosum (2006) for clarinet and choir
*Hershberger, Todd (arr. 2008), I Gaer by Sigur Ros (1999) WORLD PREMIERE
Horne, David, Flight From the Labyrinth (2004)
Hovland, Egil, Agnus Dei (2002) for bassoon and choir U.S. PREMIERE
Limbert, Thom, Fastest Land Animal for Short Distances (2007)
*Maglione, Anthony, O Thou Great Power, in Whom I Move (2008) choir and clarinet WORLD PREMIERE
*Mayrose, John, TapOut (2008) WORLD PREMIERE
Monophony, (2005)
Penn, William, A Cornfield in July and the River, for baritone & wind ensemble (1995)
Reich, Steve, New York Counterpoint (1985)
Rutter, John, Hymn to the Creator of Light (1992)
*Shull, Carrie, Bell chimes and Drums (2008) WORLD PREMIERE
Taggart, Mark, “Hymn” from Concerto for Chamber Ensemble (1982) WORLD PREMIERE


This annual celebration of contemporary music is made possible only with the generous sponsorship of foundations, corporations and individuals. We are profoundly grateful for the support they have offered us, and are proud to count those listed below among the NEWMUSIC@ECU FESTIVAL’s benefactors:

Hilton Greenville
The Starlight Café
Tipsy Teapot
Chico’s Restaurant
Leslie Vincent Massage Therapy

Special Events Committee, ECU School of Music
Student Forum for Music Organizations, ECU School of Music
Student Government Association, East Carolina University
Dept. of Theory, Composition & Musicology, ECU School of Music
Men of Phi Mu Alpha


Martin Boykan
J. Christopher and Mary Buddo
Michael Crane
Michael Dingfelder
Charles Fantazzi
Tom & Alice Glennon/Hilton Greenville
Christine Gustafson & David Savige
Edward Jacobs
Glenn Laursen
Jon R. Nelson
David Rakowski
Mark Richardson
Barry Shank
Carol Thomas
Jill E. Twark
John Van Coutren/Hilton Greenville
Leslie Vincent
Patti Weeks
Beth Wiemann

With special thanks to Harley Dartt, Paula Toothman, Terri Bostick, Dawn Harrison, Beth Fuller, Dr. Chris Buddo, Michael Crane, Jason Morton, Nathan Walker, Michael Laroche, Rob Wilber, the entire School of Music staff, faculty and administration for their ongoing support and assistance throughout the year.