2008 NewMusic@ECU Festival

Notice: this is archived material, and as such, links may no longer work since being moved to this permanent location.

Celebrating the music of our time with

Speculum Musicae
Geoffrey Burleson, piano
Christopher Grymes, clarinet
Colin Andrews, organ
ECU Symphony Orchestra
ECU NewMusic Camerata

This year’s festival, our 8th annual celebration of the music of our time, features seven concerts, master classes with visiting composers, performers, conductors, reading sessions of student composers’ works, and more!

Schedule of Events:

Feb. 27

@9pm: Christopher Grymes, clarinet
at The Starlight Cafe

Feb. 28

@8pm: Colin Andrews, organ
at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

Feb. 29

@3pm: ECU NewMusic Camerata
@8pm: Speculum Musicae

Mar. 1

@3pm: ECU NewMusic Camerata
@8pm: Geoffrey Burleson, piano

Mar. 2

@3pm: East Carolina University Orchestra
at Wright Auditorium

Festival Performers/Composers in Attendance

Performers (Guest artists bold; ECU Faculty italics)

Colin Andrews, organ
Jeff Bair, saxophone
J. Christopher Buddo, conductor
Geoffrey Burleson, piano
Scott Carter, conductor
Elliot Frank, guitar
Alisa Gilliam, piano
Christopher Grymes, clarinet
Christine Gustafson, flute
Tom McCaslin, tuba
Brad Pino, tuba
Chris Nappi, percussion
Perry Smith, tenor
Jonathan Wacker, percussion

Speculum Musicae;
Jennifer Grim, flute
Allen Blustine, clarinet
Curtis Macomber, violin
Maureen Gallagher, viola
Chris Finckel, cello
Aleck Karis, piano
Jared Soldiviero, percussion
James Baker, conductor
ECU Symphony Orchestra
ECU Wind Ensemble members


David Sanford, Mt. Holyoke College
David Rakowski, Brandeis University
Christopher Dietz, Hillsdale College, Oberlin Conservatory
Marc Faris, East Carolina University
Mark Taggart, East Carolina University
Mark Richardson
Edward Jacobs

Works Performed:  [*=world premiere]

Dietz, Christopher, Gharra (2007)

Winner, 2007-08 NewMusic@ECU Orchestra Composition Competition

A dams, John, Shaker Loops (1978)

Antheil, George, Second Sonata, “The Airplane” (1922)

Berio, Luciano, O King (sextet version, 1967)

O King (trumpet/winds version, 1972)

Britten, Benjamin, Nocturnal Op. 70 (1964)

Master Kilby
The Soldier and the Sailor
Bonny at Morn
The Shooting of His Dear

Broening, Benjamin, Arioso/Doubles (2002)
Davidovsky, Mario, Flashbacks (1995)
Donatoni, Franco, Arpege (1989)
Druckman, Jacob, Glint (1995)
Horst, Martha, Summer Sonata for alto saxophone and piano (2007) WORLD PREMIERE PREVIEW
Jacobs, Edward, A Function of Memory (2001)
Kuster, Kristen, Interior (2006)
Lowenstern, Michael, from Ten Children (2003)
Manoury, Philippe, marimba duo from Le Livre des Claviers (1982)
Messiaen, Olivier, four movements from Les Corps Glorieux (1939)
L’Ascension (1933-34) (complete)
“Dieu Parmi Nous”, from la Nativite du Seigneur (1935)
Moe, Eric, Hey Mr. Drummachine Man (2004)
Musgrave, Thea, Narcissus for clarinet and digital delay (1987)
Nancarrow, Conlon, Tango? (1983)
Nowak, Lionel, Concert Piece for Timpani and Strings (1961)
Persichetti, Vincent, Sonata No. 12, “Mirror Sonata” (1982)
Rakowski, David, Pied-A-Terre (1999)

Études: You Dirty Rag (#23) (1999)
Dorian Blue (#72) (2006)
Schnozzage (#22) (1999)
Moody’s Blues (#52) (2003)
*Clave (#76) (2007) WORLD PREMIERE

*Richardson, Mark, Spin Cycle (2008) WORLD PREMIERE

Sanford, David, Dogma 74 (2002)

Sciarrino, Salvatore, Centauro Marino (1984)

ter Veldhuis, Jacob, The Body of Your Dreams (2002)

Thullier, Francois, Rebellion for Solo Tuba (1999)

Wesley-Smith, Martin, For Marimba and Tape (1982)

White, Barbara, Reliquary (2001)

Wolff, Christian,

Xenakis, Iannis, Rebonds (1988)

Zappa, Frank /arr. Burleson,  BeBop Tango (1972)


Acknowledgements & Sponsors

To become one of the growing number of sponsors of the NEWMUSIC@ECU FESTIVAL, please contact: Edward Jacobs, 252-328-4280 or jacobse@ecu.edu

Funded in part through Meet The Composer’s MetLife Creative Connections program. Leadership support for Meet The Composer’s MetLife Creative Connections program is generously provided by MetLife Foundation. Additional support is provided by The Amphion Foundation, Argosy Foundation Contemporary Music Fund, BMI Foundation, Inc., Mary Flagler Cary Charitable Trust, Aaron Copland Fund for Music, Inc., The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation, The James Irvine Foundation, Jerome Foundation, media The foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, New York State Council on the Arts, Pennsylvania Council on the Arts and Virgil Thomson Foundation, Ltd.

This annual celebration of contemporary music is made possible only with the generous sponsorship of foundations, corporations and individuals. We are profoundly grateful for the support they have offered us, and are proud to count those listed below among the NEWMUSIC@ECU FESTIVAL’s benefactors:

Eye Integrated Communications

City Hotel & Bistro

Greenville Hilton

University Book Exchange (U.B.E)

The Starlight Café

Chico’s Restaurants


Special Events Committee, ECU School of Music

Student Forum for Music Organizations, ECU School of Music

Student Government Association, East Carolina University

Dept. of Theory, Composition & Musicology, ECU School of Music

Phi Mu Alpha music fraternity

Individual Donors:

Artist Sponsor ($1000 and above):
Tom & Alice Glennon/Greenville Hilton

Nick Glennon/Greenville Hilton

Eye Integrated Communications

Edward Jacobs

NewMusic Seeds ($100 and above)
Michael Crane

Michael Dingfelder

Carol Thomas

Christine Gustafson & David Savage

Jannette and Colin Andrews

Greg Jarrell



NewMusic Friends
John Van Coutren

Corey Briggs

Kristal Wilkinson

Becky Starobin, Bridge Artists Management

Michael Laroche

With special thanks to Paula Toothman, Terri Bostick, Dawn Harrison, Beth Fuller, Dr. Chris Buddo, Michael Crane, the entire School of Music staff, faculty and administration for their ongoing support and assistance throughout the year.  And to Pattie Glennon, a special thanks for everything.

NewMusic@ECU–where newmusic is born–
dedicated to those who love to listen.