Robert L. Jones Distinguished Professorship

About the Professorship:

East Carolina University, using a major gift from former University of North Carolina President C.D. Spangler, established an endowed professorship in 1996 to bring world-class performers and teachers to the East Carolina University School of Music.

The Robert L. “Roddy” Jones Distinguished Professorship, named for the former chair of both the UNC Board of Governors and the ECU Board of Trustees, was filled for the first time in fall of 1997.

The Jones Professorship provides students and faculty with inspired, motivational and unique learning opportunities from musicians who possess high ideals of teaching, creative activity and leadership in music performance. It attracts nationally and internationally recognized performers from any standard performance area including keyboard instruments, voice, strings, woodwinds, brass and percussion.

Past Professorship Recipients

2014-2017 – Dr. Ed Jacobs, composition
2011-2014 – Carroll V. Dashiell, Jr., jazz
2008-2009 – John Wustman, piano
2007-2008 – Speculum Musicae (new music)
2006-2007 – Ludger Lohmann, organ, Dame Gillian Weir, organ
2005-2006 – Dr. Mary Goetze, choral conductor and music educator; Elsa Ludewig-Verdehr and the Verdehr Trio (clarinet, violin, piano)
2004-2005 – The Meridian Arts Ensemble, brass and percussion 2003-2004 Heidi Grant Murphy, soprano (vocal)
2002-2003 – Paul Katz, cello
2001-2002 – Dr. Billy Taylor, piano (jazz)
2000-2001 – Vincent Dimartino, trumpet
1999-2000 – Andre’-Michel Schub, piano
1998-1999 – Bob Mintzer, saxophone (jazz)
1997-1998 – Herbert Eckhoff, bass (vocal)