ECU students win MTNA awards

ECU School of Music students won prestigious awards at the North Carolina Music Teachers National Association competition held in Chapel Hill in November.

Aaron Robinson, 1st year masters of music student in tuba performance, won the senior brass division. Robinson is a student of Tom McCaslin.

Andrew Kropp was the winner of the woodwind young artist division. He is a senior saxophone student of Dr. Jeff Bair. Junior flute performance major Jackie Traish, a student of Dr. Christine Gustafson, won honorable mention.

The ECU string area swept the awards in the string young artist division at MTNA.

Winner – CJ Collins, a senior cello student of Emanuel Gruber

Alternate – Micaela Fruend, a viola student of Ara Gregorian and Melissa Reardon

Honorable Mention – Logan Dailey, a junior cello student of Emanuel Gruber

Kyle Walker, senior piano student of Benjamin Hochman, won honorable mention in young artist piano.