NC NEWMUSIC INITIATIVE, EST. 2001 EDWARD JACOBS, FOUNDING DIRECTOR

ARTISTS, ENSEMBLES & COMPOSERS

The NC NEWMUSIC INITIATIVE is propelled by ideas-in-sound, and driven by artists exploring as-yet unheard associations, enticing soundscapes, and compelling musical worlds. These composers and performers tempt us to follow new musical roadways, opening up sonic vistas on all sides.

They come to us from around the country, our invitation prompted by their passion and excellence—in imagination and execution—and their desire to work with our students—those who will follow and lay new tracks. Each year we welcome their arrival, ready for new perspectives.

WE JUST HAVE TO LISTEN.

NINETEEN YEARS OF ARTISTS

(italics indicate East Carolina University School of Music Faculty)

SOLO ARTISTS

(featured solo recital)

Claire Chase, flute Christopher Oldfather, piano Christine Gustafson, flute Ursula Oppens, piano Christopher Grymes, clarinet Keiko Sekino, piano Nathan Williams, clarinet Yukiko Sekino, piano Michael Lowenstern, bass clarinet Gary Smart, piano John Sampen, alto saxophone Kwan Yi, piano J. Christopher Ulffers, bassoon Colin Andrews, organ Adam Unsworth, horn Miranda Cuckson, violin Midori Goto, violin Jon Nelson, trumpet Abbie Conant, trombone Hye-Jin Kim, violin Jon Lombardo, trombone Kristin Lee, violin Tom McCaslin, tuba Ionathan Bagg, viola Audrey Andrist, piano Kelley Mikkelsen, cello Donald Berman, piano Tony Arnold, soprano

Melvin Chen, piano Sharon Harms, soprano Steven Beck, piano Christine Schadeberg, soprano

Geoffrey Burleson, piano Louise Toppin, soprano

Xak Bjerken, piano Susan Narucki, mezzo-soprano

Amy Briggs-Dissanayake, piano Sharon Munden, mezzo-soprano Nathaniel Bartlett, marimba Julia Den Boer, piano Jacob Greenberg, piano Ayano Kataoka, marimba Peter Henderson, piano Tom Kolor, percussion Catherine Likhuta, piano Chris Nappi, percussion Blair McMillen, piano Dafnis Prieto, percussion

Ben Melsky, harp Marilyn Nonken, piano

PERFORMING ENSEMBLES-IN-RESIDENCE

Bugallo-Williams Piano Duo Jacob Greenberg, piano

(2012) Amy Williams, piano

Concertante Alexis Pia Gerlach, cello (2004) Ara Gregorian, violin/viola

Zvi Plesser, cello Ittai Shapira, violin Rachel Shapiro, violin Xiao-Dong Wang, violin

Daedalus Quartet Min-Young Kim, violin

(2009) Kyu-Young Kim, violin Jessica Thompson, viola Raman Ramakrishnan, cello

Dal Niente Carrie Henneman Shaw, soprano

(2017-2018) Emma Hospelhorn, flute

Chris Wild, cello Winston Choi, piano

The Dorian Wind Quintet Gretchen Pusch, flute

(2015-16) Gerard Reuter, oboe

Benjamin Fingland, clarinet Adrian Morejon, bassoon Karl Kramer-Johansen, horn

Duo Cortona Rachel Calloway, soprano (2017-2018) Ari Streisfeld, violin

Flux Quartet Tom Chiu, violin
(2007) Conrad Harris, violin
Max Mandel, viola

Dave Eggar, cello

Genkin Philharmonic Steve Basczkowski, saxophones

(2011) Tim Clarke, trumpet Jon Nelson, trumpet

Jon Lombardo, trombone Jeff McLeod, guitar Matthew Felski, drums Tom Kolor, percussion William Louden, piano Lazara Nelson, violin Michael Wagner, bass Imani Winds Valerie Coleman, flute (2010)James Roe, oboe

> Mariam Adams, clarinet Monica Ellis, bassoon Jeff Scott, horn

JACK Quartet Jon Pickford Richards, viola

Ari Streisfeld, violin (2012)

Christopher Otto, violin Kevin McFarland, cello

Loadbang Carlos Cordeiro, bass clarinet (2015-16)Jeffrey Gavett, baritone voice

> Andy Kozar, trumpets William Lang, trombone

Meridian Arts Ensemble Jon Nelson, tpt (Joe Burgstaller, 2017) (2003, 2005, 2016-17) Brian McWhorter, tpt (Tim Leopold, 2017)

Daniel Grabois, horn

Benjamin Herrington, trombone

Raymond Stewart, tuba John Ferrari, drums

ModernMedieval Trio of Voices

(2018)

Eliza Bagg Martha Cluver

Jacqueline Horner-Kwiatek

New Millenium Ensemble Greg Hesselink, cello

(2002)Margaret Kampmeier, piano

Tara O'Connor, flute

Prism Saxophone Quartet Matt Levy, tenor saxophone

(2004)Timothy McAllister, soprano saxophone

> Taimur Sullivan, baritone Saxophone Michael Whitcombe, alsto saxophone

Pulsoptional Sidney Boquiren, keyboard

(2009)marc faris, guitar

Todd Hershberger, bassoon, saxophone

Thom Limbert, percussion John Mayrose, guitar, bass

Carrie Shull, oboe, English horn

Roomful of Teeth Estelí Gomez, Martha Cluver (2014)

Caroline Shaw, Virginia Warnken

Eric Dudley, Avery Griffin

Dashon Burton, Cameron Beauchamp

Brad Wells

Speculum Musicae

(2008)

Iennifer Grim, flute Allen Blustine, clarinet Curtis Macomber, violin Maureen Gallagher, viola Chris Finckel, cello Aleck Karis, piano

lared Soldiviero, percussion James Baker, conductor

Talujon Percussion

(2013)

Ian Antonio, David Cossin, Tom Kolor, Dominic Donato, Michael Lipsey

Talea Ensemble

(2014)

Arthur Sato, oboe

Marianne Gythfeldt, clarinet

Rane Moore, clarinet Adrian Morejon, bassoon Ryan Muncy, saxophone Jeff Missal, trumpet

Mike Lormand, trombone

John Gattis, horn Stephen Gosling, piano Matt Gold, percussion Alex Lipowski, percussion Mike Truesdell, percussion

Erik Carlson, violin

Yuki Numata Resnick, violin

Beth Weisser, viola Chris Gross, cello John Popham, cello Greg Chudzik, bass

David Adamcyk, sound engineer

The Machine Is Neither

(2019)

Emma Hospelhorn, flute Ben Sutherland, electronicist

Transient Canvas

(2019)

Amy Advocat, clarinet Matt Sharrock, marimba

Triple Helix

(2004)

Bayla Keyes, violin Rhonda Rider, cello Lois Shapiro, piano

The Verdehr Trio

(2006)

Elsa Ludewig Verdehr, clarinet

Walter Verdehr, violin Silvia Roederer, piano

Yarn/Wire

(2015-16)

Ian Antonio, Russel Greenberg, percussion

Laura Barger, Ning Yu, piano

COMPOSERS-IN-RESIDENCE

* Composition Competition Winner

**Festival Commissionee

**Travis Alford Sam Nichols

Allen Anderson *Nicholas Omiccioli
T.J. Anderson William Osborne

**Ross Bauer *Charles Peck

*Lembit Beecher **Dafnis Prieto
Benjamin Broening David Rakowski

**Aaron Myers-Brooks Mark Richardson

*John Costa **Matthew Ricketts
Mario Davidovsky Andrew Rindfleisch
Stephen Dembski Michael Rothkopf
Nick Didkovsky *Jessica Rudman
*Clair de Die

*Christopher Dietz Elena Ruehr Jason Eckardt Laurie San Martin

marc faris David Sanford

*Michael-Thomas Foumai Caroline Shaw
Jeremy Gill *Paul Siskind

**David Glaser Gary Smart

Joel Hoffman David Smooke

Martha Horst *Ingrid Stölzel

*Anthony Iannaccone Mark Alan Taggart

Edward Jacobs

Britton Theurer

Stephen Jaffe

Augusta Read Thomas

Levy Lorenzo **Melinda Wagner
Michael Lowenstern Rodney Washka
Salvatore Macchia *Frej Wedlund
Thomas Masella Beth Wiemann

**James Mobberley Julius Williams
Bo Newsome *Chen Yao